Short answer:

Channel Soft's POS product — branded Optimy POS — charges a flat monthly software fee (RM90–RM120 before 8% SST, or RM55–RM120 during its current promotion) that stays the same no matter how much you sell. ROVA charges a small base fee plus a percentage of the revenue processed through its ordering system, so its cost rises as your restaurant grows. Neither company publishes a minimum contract length, so that's worth confirming directly with each before signing. At steady, moderate volume, Optimy POS's flat fee usually totals less over three years; ROVA's near-zero upfront cost makes it more accessible on day one. The full numbers are below.

If you're searching for a Channel Soft alternative in Malaysia, it's worth knowing upfront that "Channel Soft" and the POS system itself aren't quite the same thing. Channel Soft Solutions Sdn Bhd is a Johor Bahru digital agency — website design, e-commerce, Facebook Ads, SEO — and its F&B point-of-sale product is a separate sub-brand called Optimy POS, run at optimy.com.my. That's the product we're comparing against ROVA here, using the pricing and package details Optimy publishes directly.

ROVA vs Optimy POS at a Glance

Optimy POS is a full front-of-house EPOS system — table management, kitchen printing, staff attendance, stock, and e-invoicing — that runs on Android, iOS, or Windows devices you may already own. ROVA is a browser-based QR ordering layer plus web development, without inventory, staff, or till-management features. They overlap heavily on QR ordering and e-invoicing, but Optimy POS covers more of the back-of-house.

Criterion Channel Soft (Optimy POS) ROVA
Pricing model Flat monthly/yearly software licence, same fee regardless of sales volume Monthly base fee + % of revenue processed through the ordering system
Starting capital needed None if using your own device; RM2,499–2,999 if buying Optimy's hardware bundle No setup fee; only a mandatory cloud printer (RM650) and optional tablet
Hardware Runs on Android, iOS or Windows devices you already own, or a bundled IMIN terminal + printer + cash drawer Runs on any browser/phone/tablet; only a cloud printer is mandatory
QR ordering & e-invoice Included in the Advance plan only (not Basic), connects to LHDN QR ordering is core to every plan; e-invoicing is listed as "Soon," not live yet
Back-of-house features Table layout, waiter app, staff attendance, stock inventory, multi-branch reporting Not offered — ROVA is an ordering layer, not a full EPOS replacement
Branding Optimy-branded interface White-labelled ordering page on your own subdomain, with custom theme colours
Web development Offered separately, under the parent Channel Soft brand (not bundled with Optimy POS) Bundled service line alongside the ordering platform
Published contract length Not stated on Optimy's pricing pages — confirm directly Not stated on ROVA's pricing page — confirm directly

How Channel Soft's Optimy POS Pricing Actually Works

Optimy POS is sold as a software subscription with two tiers, both subject to an additional 8% SST on top of the listed price. As of this writing, Optimy's pricing page shows a live promotional discount alongside the regular rate:

Plan Promo price Regular price Includes
BasicRM45/mo or RM540/yrRM90/moPOS software, multi-printer, simple stock, reporting, table management
AdvanceRM55/mo or RM660/yrRM120/moEverything in Basic, plus QR ordering, e-invoice, attendance system, live reporting, waiter app

Only the Advance plan includes QR ordering and e-invoicing, so that's the tier worth comparing against ROVA. Note that the discounted rate is displayed with an active countdown timer on Optimy's site — a live promotion, not necessarily a locked-in long-term price. Since Optimy doesn't publish what happens to your rate once a promotion ends or an annual term renews, that's a direct question worth asking their sales team before you sign, not an assumption to make from the pricing page.

If you need new hardware rather than using an existing tablet, Optimy also sells bundled packages — an IMIN terminal, printer, and cash drawer plus one year of the Basic plan — starting at RM2,499 (promotional price, regularly RM3,600), plus a separate RM350 installation fee. On-site hardware warranty beyond the standard one year is a further RM250/year, covering up to two callouts.

How ROVA's Subscription Pricing Works

ROVA runs on a different logic entirely: a small fixed base fee plus a percentage of the revenue that flows through ROVA's ordering system, dropping as you move up a tier.

Plan Base fee Revenue share Best for
BasicRM49/mo2.5%New or small stalls, up to ~RM5,000/mo
PopularRM99/mo2.0%Established single outlets, ~RM5,000–20,000/mo
ProRM199/mo1.5%High-volume or multi-outlet, RM20,000+/mo

There's no setup fee, the first month's revenue share is waived for new sign-ups, and the only mandatory hardware is a cloud printer (RM650). Every plan includes free menu import and a custom ordering subdomain — features Optimy's pricing page doesn't list at any tier.

The Real Cost Comparison: 3-Year Numbers

Here's a worked example for a café doing RM12,000 a month in revenue through its ordering system, comparing Optimy's Advance plan (software only, using an existing tablet) against ROVA's Popular plan, using Optimy's regular (non-promotional) price as the durable baseline since promotions can expire:

Optimy POS (Advance, own hardware) ROVA (Popular)
Upfront hardwareRM0 (existing device)RM650 (cloud printer)
Monthly feeRM120 + 8% SST = RM129.60, flatRM99 + 2.0% of revenue = RM339, scales with sales
Year 1 total≈ RM1,555≈ RM4,478 (incl. first-month promo)
Year 2 total≈ RM1,555≈ RM4,068
Year 3 total≈ RM1,555≈ RM4,068
3-year total≈ RM4,666≈ RM12,614

At this revenue level, Optimy POS costs roughly RM7,950 less over three years — because its fee is a flat licence charge that doesn't move whether the café does RM6,000 or RM26,000 a month, while ROVA's fee is a percentage of total revenue processed through the platform. Even factoring in Optimy's full hardware bundle route (RM2,499 + RM350 install, plus upgrading from Basic to Advance) instead of using an existing device, the three-year total lands around RM5,000 — still well under half of ROVA's total at this volume.

These numbers depend on the specific assumptions above (revenue level, plan tier, and whether Optimy's current promotional pricing is still active when you sign up), and on pricing published at the time of writing. Get a direct quote from both before budgeting against these figures.

Contract Terms: What to Ask Before You Sign

The title of this post promised contract terms, and here's the honest state of play: neither company publishes a minimum lock-in period or cancellation policy on its public pricing pages. That's not unusual for Malaysian SME software, but it does mean the fine print lives in the sales conversation, not the website. A few specific things worth clarifying with either vendor before you commit:

  • Does the quoted monthly rate survive renewal? Optimy's current Advance pricing (RM55/mo) is shown with an active countdown timer, meaning it's a promotion, not a published permanent rate. Ask what the price becomes after year one.
  • Is annual pricing a discount for prepaying, or a binding term? Optimy's RM660/year for Advance works out cheaper than paying RM120 x 12 months, but it's not clear from public pricing whether that locks you in for the full year with no refund if you switch systems early.
  • What exactly is covered by on-site warranty, and what happens after the two included callouts? Optimy's RM250/year add-on caps at two visits — ask what a third hardware issue costs.
  • Is SST included in the headline price? Optimy explicitly notes "all price subject to 8% SST" — a detail easy to miss when comparing sticker prices between vendors.
  • How is "revenue" defined for a percentage-based fee? If you're evaluating ROVA, confirm whether the revenue share applies only to orders placed through ROVA's QR system or your total outlet revenue.

Which Costs Less for Your Situation?

  • Already have a tablet or POS device: Optimy's Advance plan running on existing hardware is very likely the cheaper option over any multi-year horizon, since its fee doesn't grow with your sales.
  • Opening with little starting capital and no existing hardware: ROVA's zero-setup-fee model avoids the RM2,499+ hardware bundle cost, even though its ongoing fee will likely cost more once volume builds.
  • Need staff attendance, stock control, or table management too: Optimy POS covers this as one system; ROVA doesn't, so factor in a separate tool if you need those functions alongside QR ordering.
  • Want e-invoicing live today: Optimy's Advance plan already connects to LHDN. ROVA lists e-invoicing as "Soon," so it isn't available yet.

Want to see ROVA's numbers against your own revenue? Run the calculator on our pricing page, or explore ROVA's QR ordering plans in full.

Beyond Price: A Few Other Differences

  • Scope. Optimy POS is trying to be your entire till, kitchen, and staff system. ROVA is trying to be your ordering and online-growth layer. If you need both, you may end up running two systems side by side rather than choosing one over the other.
  • Company scale. Optimy POS is a product line under Channel Soft Solutions, a Johor Bahru digital agency founded in 2024 whose broader business is web design and marketing; Optimy's own site lists 1,000+ merchants using the POS product specifically.
  • Fraud resistance. ROVA generates a fresh, session-based QR code per table visit specifically to prevent static-code photo fraud. Optimy's public materials describe QR ordering as a feature but don't detail an equivalent dynamic-code mechanism.
  • Branding. ROVA's ordering page runs on your own subdomain with custom theme colours; Optimy's interface is Optimy-branded.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Channel Soft the same as Optimy POS?

Not exactly. Channel Soft Solutions Sdn Bhd is a Johor Bahru digital agency whose services include web design, e-commerce, and digital marketing. Its F&B point-of-sale product is run under a separate brand, Optimy POS, at optimy.com.my — that's the system this comparison is based on.

Does Optimy POS charge a percentage of my sales?

No. Optimy POS charges a flat monthly or annual software fee (plus 8% SST) that doesn't change based on how much revenue your outlet does, unlike ROVA's plans, which include a percentage of the revenue processed through the ordering system.

What's the best Channel Soft alternative in Malaysia?

It depends on what you need replaced. If you need a full EPOS system with staff attendance, stock, and table management, compare Optimy POS against other full-featured Malaysian EPOS providers. If you specifically need QR self-ordering and a branded online presence without new hardware costs, ROVA is built for that narrower use case.

Does Optimy POS or ROVA lock you into a contract?

Neither company publishes a minimum contract term or cancellation policy on its public pricing pages as of this writing. Confirm the specifics — including what happens to promotional pricing after renewal — directly with each vendor's sales team before signing.

Which is cheaper for a growing restaurant?

At low, early-stage volume with no existing hardware, ROVA's no-setup-fee model is usually more accessible. Once a restaurant is doing steady, moderate-to-high revenue, Optimy POS's flat software fee — which doesn't rise with sales — typically works out cheaper over a multi-year horizon, provided you already have compatible hardware.

Curious how ROVA's numbers look for your own restaurant? Run the calculator on our pricing page, or see how ROVA can also handle your website and online presence in the same platform.

Related reading: ROVA vs Genius POS: One-Time Payment vs Subscription · What Is a QR Code POS System and How Does It Work? · More comparisons on the ROVA blog